Parish Name :
Amala Annai Church

Address :
Amala Annai Church, Nirmala ashram, Thirumangalam Post, Madurai – 625706.

Patron Saint :
Our Lady of Immaculate Conception

Telephone No :

Thirumangalam is 20 Kms south of Madurai en route to Kanyakumari on the National Highway No. 7. Amala Annai Church is located just on the National Highway. In front of the church are the Taluk and Munsiff Courts, Prison, Taluk Office, Registrar’s Office and sub-treasury. Behind the church are the Government Hospital and Head Post Office. At the right side of the church lie the Municipal Office and Traveller’s Bungalow.
Most Rev. Justin Diraviam invited the Capuchins to work in Madurai Archdiocese. The pioneers, Frs. Mark OFM Cap. and Mathias OFM Cap., worked in Kalladithidal in Ramnad district before Fr. Mathias could find a suitable place for the Capuchin mission in Thirumangalam. The present site with a small chapel (circumference of the area – 7350 sq. metres) was given to the Capuchins, and they were asked to take up the mission parish of Usilampatti itself in which lay Thirumangalam. The foundation in Thirumangalam was blessed by the Archbishop on 8th December 1970. The construction of the new chapel began in February 1974, and completed in December 1976. Thirumangalam was raised to the status of a parish in 1994, and Fr. Benjamin OFM Cap. was the first official Parish Priest.
The approximate population of Thirumangalam at present is 50200, among whom Catholics number around 600. The main occupation of the locals is self employment. The Capuchins take care of four substations namely, Sathangudi, T. Kallupatti, Odaipatty and Uchapatti Srilankan refugee’s camp. Fr. Arockiam OFM Cap. is the present Parish Priest. There are five religious communities in the Parish: Capuchins, FMM Sisters, CIC Sisters, FIHM Sisters and St. Joseph of Tharbs Sisters.

Succession of parish priests
Fr. Mathias OFM Cap (1970 – 75)
Fr. Joachim OFM Cap (1975 – 76)
Fr. Pancras OFM Cap (1976 – 78)
Fr. Irudaya Samy OFM Cap (1978 – 1979)
Fr. Bosco OFM Cap (1979 – 1981)
Fr. John Antony OFM Cap (1981 – 1982)
Fr. R. Charles OFM Cap (1982 – 1984)
Fr. Percy Joseph Raj OFM Cap (1984 – 1987)
Fr. Arockiam OFM Cap (1987 – 1990)
Fr. Mariaraj OFM Cap (1990 – 1993)
Fr. Benjamin OFM Cap (1993 – 1996)
Fr. Vedanayagam OFM Cap (1996 – 1999)
Fr. Theresnathan OFM Cap (1999 – 2002)
Fr. Andrews OFM Cap (2002 – 2005)
Fr. Francis Peter Durai OFM Cap (2005 – 2008)
Fr. J. Jone Antony Raja OFM Cap (2008 – 2010)
Fr. J. Arockiam OFM Cap (2010 – 2013
Fr. Anbin Amalan (2013-2014)
Fr. Anbu 2014

a) Sathangudi
b) Odaipatty
c) Uchampatti Sri Lankan Refugee’s Camp
d) T. Kalluppatti

Participatory structures / associations in the parish
Parish council and 12 Anbiams.

a) Legion of Mary
b) Vincent De Paul Society
c) Golbe Society

Religious in the Parish
a) Capuchins, Members : 5, Ph: 04549-280587.
b) FMM Sisters’ Franciscan Missionaries of Mary, Members : 5,
Ph : 04549-282649.
c) CIC Sisters, Members : 4, Ph: 04549-272475.
d) FIHM Sisters, Members : 4, Ph: 04549-281107.
e) St. Joseph’s of Tarbes Sisters, Members: 5, Ph: 04549-295251

Secular Institute

Institutions under the Religious
a) St. Francis Metric. Hr. Sec. School, Thirumangalam,
Ph : 04549-282769 Students: 1500, staff : 70, Catholic staff: 11.
b) Sacred Heart Nursery & Primary School, Kallikudi,
Ph : 04549-293634 students : 113, staff : 12, Catholic staff : 01.
c) Jothi Dharman Assisi High school, Sathangudi, Ph : 04549-281107 Students : 582, Staff : 12, Catholic Staff : 10.

Kurusadis & grottos in the Parish